Berlin Marathon

Sun, 09/28/2014 (All day)
BMW Berlin Marathon

The story of the BERLIN-MARATHON is a story of the development of road running. When the first BERLIN-MARATHON was started on 13th October 1974 on a minor road next to the stadium of the organisers‘ club SC Charlottenburg Berlin 286 athletes had entered. The first winners were runners from Berlin: Günter Hallas (2:44:53), who still runs the BERLIN-MARATHON today, and Jutta von Haase (3:22:01).

Haile Gebrselassie came back to Berlin in 2009 to make a fourth attempt on the world record on the superfast course in the German capital. On this day though the weather was not as favourable for such an attempt as in the two previous years. Being on course to break his mark set a year ago (2:03:59) until the 37th kilometer he struggled on the last part of the race and fell off the record pace quite clearly to finish still in world class style with 2:06:08 hours. Temperatures up to 27 degrees Celsius did not contribute to a better performance. Still he clocked a world record for 30 km passing through this mark in 1:27:49. This was his fourth win in a row at the real,- BERLIN-MARATHON, an achievement no runner has reached before as well as his average time in these four races of 2:05:08 hrs. First woman at the finish was Atsede Habtamu Besuye from Ethiopia clocking a personal best time of 2:24:47 hrs. 40.923 participants were registered, 35.035 finished the race.